Who We Are

National Director

Fr Vincent Lockhart was appointed Missio Scotland's National Director in 2018 after serving as caretaker for two years. Following a year working as a deacon in Cameroon, West Africa, Fr Vincent was ordained a priest in 1983 for Motherwell Diocese. He then returned to Cameroon where he spent 16 years living with the Bangwa, Mundani and Bayang peoples in a remote area in the mountains and rain forest in the south western part of the country. 
On his appointment, Fr Vincent commented, "Missio is the Pope's personal mission charity and is an expression of the fact that the Church is a family. The work of Missio Scotland is to deepen that family bond between the Church here in Scotland and the Church in those countries where it is in need of our spiritual and material support. I place my trust in Pope Francis' prayers and ask for those of the Catholic community of Scotland."

Diocesan Directors

Diocesan Directors are appointed by the local Bishop to promote overseas mission in their diocese. Missio Scotland has representatives in each diocese who support our work at a local level.

Aberdeen PNG.png
to be appointed
Fr David Connor Argyll
Fr David Connor
Fr Mike Freyne Dunkeld
Fr Mike Freyne
Fr Gabriel Onoyima Galloway
Fr Gabriel Onoyima
Fr Liam McMahon Glasgow
Fr Liam McMahon
Fr Thomas Doyle Motherwell
Fr Thomas Doyle
Canon Peter McGarry Paisley
Canon Peter McGarry
Fr Paul Lee Edinburgh_edited.jpg
Fr Paul Lee

Board of Directors

The members of the board oversee the governance of Missio Scotland. Currently there are four active representatives :
  • The Most Reverend Leo Cushley (Archbishop of Edinburgh)
  • The Right Reverend Joseph Toal (Bishop of Motherwell)
  • The Right Reverend Brian McGee (Bishop of Argyll & The Isles)
  • McSparran McCormack (Lawyers)

Our History

Missio was born from the initiatives of two charismatic women, a bishop, and a priest. All were passionate about creating awareness of overseas mission and sending support to missionaries. Together, their four societies became known as the Pontifical Mission Societies. Almost two centuries after our story began, we continue to work together as one family in mission.

You can read more on the four societies and their founders by clicking the links below.

Pauline Jaricot

Pauline Marie Jaricot

Propagation of the Faith

Jeanne Bigard

Jeanne Bigard

St Peter the Apostle

Bishop Charles de Forbin Janson

Bishop Charles de Forbin Janson

Missionary Children

Paolo Manna.jpg

Fr Paulo Manna

Missionary Union